Skip to content

Blog posts that make sense

June 26, 2013

Every time I submit a blog post in WordPress, as it goes live, a quote shows up on my screen.  The quote is generally about writing or blogging, and they do repeat.  One of them says something along the lines of that the first step to writing a blog is reading them.  Obviously I had already started blogging when this wisdom was shared with me.  While perhaps not a a direct effect of this idea, over the past few months I have started following a couple other bloggers.

One of the blogs I know receive as a daily e-mail is 1000 Awesome Things – upon which The Book of Awesome franchise is based.  And I must admit I’m a bit disappointed in the blog.  While some of the posts are great and I love them, it feels like they are randomly sent out.  For example, one day last week I received a post entitled ”  #739 The sound of barely frozen puddles cracking when you step on them  Now I’m not debating weather or not that is awesome, cause I agree it really is, my beef is with the fact that they sent that around in June.  Perhaps I’m uniformed and the author lives in the Southern Hemisphere and it is winter there, but I kind of doubt it.  I think this post would have been way more awesome had I gotten in late October or early November, when there were actually frozen puddles to step on.

Really all I’m saying, is that I think blog posts should make sense.  I know some of you have to back track and catch up on reading every now and again, but know that what you read reflects the day it is written.  I’m not writing lots one day and then just hitting “Publish” each night.

Knitting the Sky – a blog that makes sense.

Oh and by the way, I don’t really think you need to read blogs before you start writing.

Sky Report at 10:00 – mix of sun and cloud in Mississauga

Yarn Strands: light slate blue and white

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment